Women’s Leadership Award

The Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award recognizes the valuable contributions of women student leaders and is the first in University of Wisconsin-Madison history to honor campus wide female undergraduate leadership.

Administered as part of the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Leadership Certificate Program and endorsed by the University’s women Deans, the $5,000 award was presented for the first time in the spring of 2014.

The intention of the Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award is to honor an outstanding graduating senior woman who has distinguished herself as a campus leader and to encourage and mentor her. Recipients join the UW-Madison Women’s Leadership Award Network: a community of women-identified leaders with common UW-Madison ties and experiences.  This fellowship will foster continued support for women engaging in leadership.

Anne Martino was an active on-campus leader who graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1988.  She is a successful businesswoman who considers the award a way of paying forward the encouragement and mentoring she received from outstanding UW-Madison women Deans and mentors.

Selection Requirements:

  • A graduating undergraduate, degree-seeking student who identifies as a woman and has successfully completed the requirements for the University of Wisconsin-Madison Leadership Certificate within that same academic year.
  • Completion of the application process which includes both a written and video submission.
  • Commitment to attending the Leadership Certificate award ceremony in spring should an applicant be selected for the award.

Selection Process:

A panel comprised of Leadership Certificate reviewers will recommend 3-5 candidates to a final selection committee including UW-Madison women Deans, past recipients, and the award donor(s).

Application Instructions:

Application materials for the Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award can be accessed once you are enrolled in the Leadership Certificate on Canvas during your advising appointment.

Women Leadership Award Recipients
Lily Hansen, Anne Louise Martino, & Iffat Bhuiyan. Lily & Iffat are the Spring 2018 Award Recipients.
Women's Leadership Certificate Award
Front Row from left to right: Kayla Sippl (2015 Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award Recipient) Anne Martino, and Mary Lou Martino Back Row from left to right: Lori Berquam (Past Vice Provost for Student Life and Dean of Students), Alexandria Pham (2016 Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award Recipient) and Donna Freitag (Assistant Director of Leadership Development)
3 women, Anne Martino, Alexandria Pham, and Kayla Sippl, who were awarded the Leadership Awards pose in front of a brown textured background.
Alexandria Pham is the 2016 Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award Recipient. Kayla Sippl was the 2015 Award recipient.

Anne Louise Martino Leadership Award Recipients—Spring 2023

Name: Mae Hurtado-Thiele

Hometown: Milwaukee, WI

Year/Major: Graduated May 2023 with a degree in Genetics and Genomics with a certificate in Leadership.

Mae was extremely involved throughout her time at UW-Madison. She held an abundance of roles on campus, including a student lead historical researcher, academic chair of the Undergraduate Genetics Association, Undergraduate research in the Judith Simcox Lab, president and co-captain of the Club Field Hockey team, and ambassador for the UW-Madison College of Agricultural & Life Sciences. When Mae talks about her Leadership Certificate experience, she acknowledges that it has helped her grow into the student, scientist, and leader that she is today. The most influential part of the certificate was her ability to reflect on her strengths and shortcomings. Mae has worked incredibly hard to establish herself as a leader to young women and Hispanic students in STEM. She is proud to have built a network of diverse individuals who share similar goals with the mindset of turning them into a reality. Mae started a two-year fellowship at the National Institutes of Health’s National Cancer Institute, hoping to attend medical school and become a physician-scientist.

To see Mae’s video submission, click here.

Past Award Recipients